« Tokyo Stories | Main | Americans, Register to Vote in Paris! »

Hearst 8 X 10 Photography Biennal Competition

Contest The Hearst Corporation has announced an international biennial competition to recognize and showcase the professional work of talented young photographers.

Hearst 8 X 10 Photography Biennial will recognize eight winners and feature their work in two exhibition spaces in the atrium of Lord Norman Foster's Hearst Tower, the company's acclaimed New York City headquarters. 

Both the newly-named Alexey Brodovitch Gallery and the Hearst Gallery will showcase approximately 100 photographs beginning in April 2024 through the end of the year.  Hearst will publish both digital and print catalogues showcasing works chosen by 10 judges composed of editors, creative directors, curators, and renowned photographers.

Photo by Peter Lindbergh

Hearst Corporation has a distinguished legacy of working with legendary photographers dating from the earliest days of its magazine and newspaper publishing, including Slim Aarons, Diane Arbus, Richard Avedon, Lillian Bassman, Robert Frank, Lee Friedlander, Philippe Halsman, Martin Munkacsi and today's contemporary masters.

"Hearst has a history of working with pioneers, award winners and rule breakers in the fields of photography, and we take pride in our editors' and creative directors' keen interest in identifying and promoting the work of the next generation of rising young talents," said Frank A. Bennack, Jr., vice chairman and CEO, Hearst Corporation.

"Our editors and creative talent, working with some of the world's most talented contemporary names in the field of photography, are in a position to open doors for the emerging talent that will play an important role in the future of magazines, media, the Web and the worlds of design and photography."

Hearst 8 X 10 Photography Biennial will be open to photographers who have at least two years of professional experience, both in the United States and abroad. Opening date for entries is September 15, 2024.  All entries must be e-mailed or postmarked no later than January 1, 2024.

  Winners will be announced on March 1, 2024.

Ten judges, half of which include leading photographers and museum curators, will review all entries and select the eight award recipients.  They include:

    * John A. Bennette, III, curator/writer    
* Judith Bookbinder, vice president, creative communications, Hearst Magazines
* David Granger, editor-in-chief, Esquire     * Timothy Greenfield-Sanders, photographer    
* Virginia Heckert, associate curator of photographs, J. Paul Getty Museum    
* Donna Karan, designer and collector    
* Peter Lindbergh, photographer    
* Mary Ellen Mark, photographer    
* Steve McCurry, photographer    
* Charles Stainback, curator of photography, Norton Museum of Art

Additional information and submission guidelines here.

Bonapart Paris apartments


Post a comment

Search the site

More sites to explore...

Site notices

  •  Subscribe in a reader

    Add to My AOL

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Add to Google

    Copyright © Susie Hollands.